234 Ste. Marie Street

Two-storey, hip-roofed, red-brick house with buff-brick trim, ground-floor, bay window and north-side verandah having ornate “Gothic” balustrade and classical cornice (c. 1880).


Description – East elevation is fairly simple, having altered (now half-glazed), four-panel, front door (behind metal storm) in tall, segmental-arch, with plain glass transom above. Single course of buff-brick voussoirs have flush, header-band above, and drop to brick impost brick at upper jambs. Bay window has wider central 2/2 window and narrow 1/1 windows at sides (all with period storms). Arches are as at front door. Bay is roofed in hipped roof with simple eaves and fascia. At second floor two 2/2 windows (behind metal storms) are within apertures as elsewhere. At top of wall, is deep peripheral band of alternating red bricks and buff bricks. Soffits have beaded boards on laminated, undulating brackets, widely spaced at three per elevation, and main roof is clad in brown asphalt shingles. Ornate verandah at north side is unique in heritage district. Posts are chamfered at lower and upper levels, having bands of moulding at railing height and taller mouldings at bases. Balustrade comprises plain lower, and profiled upper, railings framing highly ornate, wooden screen characterized by punctured quatrefoils with thick peripheral mouldings, and profiled discs between apertures. Upper-level woodwork is segmental-arched, with fan-motif at spandrels and central pendant finials. Elongated brackets support soffits at posts, with ogee-shaped modillions over planted moulding in areas between. Screen below deck has traditional, wooden pickets, while deck itself is of narrow tongue-and-groove boards; and ceiling has beaded boards. Fascia has bottom bead, is plain and hip roof is clad in dark-grey asphalt shingles.



Click here to return to Ste. Marie Street Street inventory

exploring our past

Copyright © Heritage Collingwood 2005- 2022